Access Day!

My second favorite day of the week, Access Day! (De-access day being my favorite)

For those of you who don’t know, I have a Power Port implanted on the left side of my chest! I have it for antibiotics that I take twice a day via IV. This little thing in my chest basically saved my life. Without it, I’m honestly not sure what stage of my illness I’d be in…

But! If you refer to my last post “De-accessing your needle”, you’ll see how I did a walk through of pulling out my needle.

This one will be about putting it back in.

Here goes nothing:

1. Put on your damn mask! 

aaf0cc6d-0441-410e-9ec7-8f954615b0a8.jpg

I can’t even count how many times I have said this. WEAR YOUR MASK. Wear it when you’re de-accessing. Wear it when you access. Wear it when you feel icky. Wear it whenever you can. Trust me, it’s for your own safety against infection and illness.

2. EMLA cream 

61dhonYmJiL._SL1500_.jpg

Let’s be serious here, having your needle access HURTS. Like, really bad. Before I used EMLA cream, I would scream and cry in pain. Please, do yourself a favor and put this on an hour before you’re accessed. You’ll thank me later.

3. GLOVES

download (1).jpg

Just like the mask, please always wear sterile gloves!!! Even after your area has been cleaned, you need those special little gloves. Honestly, they’re not that hard to find.

4. Breathe

beca7553-dd8e-4c39-9715-20857568f529

You’re about to get stuck. Seriously, count down from 3 and breathe. Close your eyes even! Anything that helps you stay calm and still for the 3 seconds it take your nurse to stick you.

5. Here it comes!

d148c361-6578-45f3-b06f-ff3a138af8e7

Once it’s half way there, you can relax! Your nurse has everything under control and you have nothing to worry about.

6. That was easier than you thought, huh?

bd6e9ae0-3280-4ba9-a3ff-e6455bb34450.png

You’re needle is in! Before you have you biopatch and tegaderm placed, be sure to flush and check for a blood return. If it hurts, PLEASE TELL YOUR NURSE.

Once the needle is in, it should not hurt.

You did it! You made it through access day!

You’re such a rockstar!

Leave a Reply

