The not so casual, under the radar, ER visit…

Imagine this: It’s 5:00 am. You wake up three hours before your alarm and you’re in dying pain. But- the pain is only in one spot, your stomach. Your first response is to sit up, hunch over, and cry. But you can’t- That would hurt way too much. So what do you do?

You let the pain take over. You let the pain over come your body and you cry it out.

After about two hours of crying, your body lets loose. Almost like your body is saying, “Okay, I’m done.”

It’s now 7:00 am and you’re wide awake. So what do you do? Google, of course! Google all the reasons why you could been having a random onset of stomach pain.

Type in your symptoms:

  • Stomach pain, localized to lower right quadrant
  • Nausea
  • Low-grade fever
  • No appetite
  • can’t lay still without crying

Once you’ve found something that makes sense, you ask your home nurse.

By now it’s 9:15 am and it has yet to calm down. She agrees with you- appendix.

Well after a few hours and a few doctor calls later…this is you:

a9fee6d9-e460-4c46-96df-5ac6bed05cd5

Actually- It’s me. And this is my not so causal, under the radar, ER visit…

I ended up in the ER around 3:00 pm, in severe pain, thinking it was my appendix. It only makes sense, right? Wrong.

My doctor told me a whole list of what it could be, from the appendix to gas.

After she explained all the fun possibilities of my mysterious pain, she ordered an ultrasound. Nothing new, I’ve had my gall bladder out before…I’m an ultrasound pro by now.

Let me just tell you, this was no normal ultrasound. This was a “Hold your breath and try not to scream” type of ultrasound.

On the inside, I was screaming and crying. On the outside, I looked a little something like this:

150cb877-0b27-4cd0-9937-f6fdef291035.jpg

If you really look deep into my eyes, you could probably tell I was tired and done being in pain. But under that mask, was a smile.

Once the dreadful ultrasound was finished, all my nurse said was, “Well, your right ovary looks..um..different from your left ovary.”

Nothing more, nothing less.

All I could do then, was wait…and wait, and wait.

Finally, after what seemed like forever, my doctor came in and explained everything to us. It wasn’t my appendix, but my ovaries. My right ovary went into over-drive and started producing wayyyyy too many eggs. Which left me in tons of pain. (How does this happen? No idea.)

{Fun Fact: This also means, if I were to get pregnant, I would have a higher chance of having triplets or more.}

So thankfully, I’m okay and got to go home. But, today was a huge scare and not fun at all.

f079757c-3bc8-490c-abb2-19dac4725281

Moral of the story?

Don’t ignore your pain. If you feel something different or out of the ordinary, seek medical attention. It’s better to be safe, than sorry.

Leave a Reply

