Thank You, Lyme Disease 

Dear Lyme Disease,

Thank you. 

I know what you’re thinking, why should I be thanking Lyme?

Lyme Disease, you may have pushed me down…but I’m right back up. 

9 months ago, I stopped walking. 

9 months. 

I couldn’t even move my legs. I couldn’t so much as touch my legs without screaming in pain. 

Here’s a list of what you can do in 9 months:

  • Have a baby
  • Grow 4.5 inches of hair
  • Watch a butterfly appear from its cocoon 
  • Grow a pineapple plant 
  • Stop walking

Out of that fun short list, I ended up with the last one. I still think back to this and cry about it. How can you not?


Along with my shiny new wheelchair, I had to get a pretty little port. This thing has caused me so much pain and tears. 

Without it though, I’d probably be dead. 


Along the way, I found things that helped ease the pain. Things like yoga and massage have helped a ton. 


I also had two spinal taps, gall bladder surgery, and more. Yeah, it’s been a fun ride. 


After months of pain and tears and feeling like death, it happened. 

I walked. 

And I continue to walk!

I haven’t touched my cane in 2 weeks. 


Because of all of this shit, I’ve been able to understand my body. I know what my body wants and doesn’t want. 
In just 9 months, here’s a list of what I’ve done:

  • I’ve made the wonderful decision to NEVER go back to a public high school. I’ve learned more this year- out of school, than I have sitting in that classroom. I have enrolled in an alternative school that allows me to continue to travel, run my business and live my life while reviving an extraordinary education  
  • I’ve been asked to be on the speaker’s panel at the Writer’s Conference at Hollins. 
  • I’ve been asked to teach a class of doctors at Carilion about my disease. Let me repeat that for those in the back, a class of doctors. 
  • I’ve started a business.  
  • I’va become a spokes person for Children’s Miracle Network- having appeared in several radiothons and events. 

That’s just the start of it, I have more plans that have yet to be announced!

 And to answer your question: No, I can’t ever “stop”. Someone once said to me, “You just don’t stop, do you.” 

Nope! Why would I stop, when there’s so much to do?

Thank you, Lyme Disease. Thank you, thank you, THANK YOU. 

Of course, my fight doesn’t stop here. I’ll be fighting until there’s a cure, and I’m so ready for this fight. 

Bring it, Lyme. 

Love,

Someone who’s totally kicking ass 😘
Special thanks to:

https://bikramyoganyc.com

https://www.carilionclinic.org/hospitals/carilion-clinic-childrens-hospital/childrens-miracle-network

5 thoughts on “Thank You, Lyme Disease 

  1. Elise Roberts says:

    Darling Sarabeth,

    I am so excited by your wonderful story. That and the pictures tell of true courage in the fCe o seemingly insurmountable odds. Congratulations for being true to yourself and for your invincible spirit.

    I love you.

    Granmummie

    Sent from my iPad

    >

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Barry says:

    Sounds as if you are a truly liberated individual — congratulations . Please advise how you were diagnosed and if it was from a deer tick bite. Am currently on doxycycline for 2 weeks after a deer tick bite

    Like

Leave a Reply

